Songwriters & Producers

Drumsound & Bassline Smith

drumsound & bassline smith

Andrew Wright
Benjamin Wiggett
Simon Smith

Songwriters & Producers

Drumsound & Bassline Smith

Drumsound & Bassline Smith are a British electronic production group from Derby, consisting of Andrew Wright, Benjamin Wiggett (Drumsound) and Simon ‘Bassline’ Smith. Their record label is Technique Recordings, which celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2009. They met at one of Derby’s club nights in the summer of 1998.

In 2004 their “Odyssey” banger was judged Mixmag ‘s tenth best all-round dance anthem of the year, and hit #1 on the UK Dance Chart. They have released tracks on a string of some of the most respected imprints in drum and bass, including on Ltj Bukem’s Good Looking Records, Bryan G’s V Records and Grooverider’s Prototype Records.

Also, in 2004 Drumsound & Bassline Smith released their first studio album, Nature of the Beast,[1] featuring “Crossfire (Danger)”, “Planet Mars”, “The End” and “Tinman”, on Technique Recordings.

They enjoy regular plays on BBC Radio One and 1Xtra from Fabio and Grooverider, Zane Lowe, Mistajam, Annie Nightingale and Annie Mac. The trio are one of the few complete multiple mixes for BBC Radio One.

The 10 Years Of Technique album included the “Can You Feel It”, “Clap Your Hands” and “Law Of The Jungle”, and reached #1 on the BBC Radio 1 and 1xtra charts at the end of November 2009. 2009 remixes included VV Browns “Leave”’ at the request of Universal’s Island Records and Fugative’s – Supafly for Ministry Of Sound.

Annie Mac requested the crew complete a remix of Chipmunk’s “Oopsy Daisy” for her Mash Hitz segment. They also did a remix of the EastEnders theme for the E20 Music Competition set up by the BBC.

In 2010, Drumsound & Bassline Smith remixed work by Blame feat Ruff Squad, and mixed “Until You Were Gone” by Chipmunk featuring Esmée Denters. The group have also completed a remix of Afrojack featuring Eva Simons’ “Take Over Control” on Data Records, and produced tracks on the Dansette Junior album on Columbia Records.

In April 2011 Drumsound & Bassline Smith released a 12″ of “Freak” on the Newstate label. “Freak” gained positive reviews and made BBC Radio 1’s daytime playlist. Soon afterwards they remixed DJ Fresh – “Louder” which was released on July 3, 2011. The song features vocals from Welsh singer Sian Evans from the band Kosheen and hit the Number 1 spot in the UK Singles Chart. Other remixes include Moby – After & Youngman MC – Who Knows.

The trio then released “Close” on 21 August 2011,The single was supported by Zane Lowe, MistaJam, Annie Mac and Fearne Cotton on BBC Radio 1 promoted to BBC Radio 1 B-list and it peaked on the UK Singles Chart at number 49.

In 2012 Drumsound & Bassline Smith collaborated with Utah Saints on their classic track ‘What Can You Do For Me’ which made the BBC Radio 1 daytime playlist & hit the Number 28 spot in the UK Singles Chart on 4th March

Also in March 2012 Drumsound & Bassline Smith won the ‘Best Track’ award & ‘Best Video’ award with ‘Close’ at the Official Drum & Bass Awards